Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Ted Talk, “We Should All Be Feminists,” discusses why feminism isn’t a bad thing, it’s the advocacy of women’s rights on the basis of the equality of the sexes.

Throughout her talk, she made all these remarks that the audience laughed at, even I laughed. However, that laughter came from an understanding of what she was talking about.

Growing up as a girl I noticed the difference between the way a boy could act and the way a girl should act. Now I was not brought up in “girls shouldn’t do this or that” environment with my parents. However, with my grandparents, mostly my grandmother, I was.

But I think there’s an exception for her, not only because she’s my favorite human being, but because she was raised in a time when girls were expected to act a certain way- the “proper way.” Even though, I think even she was the feminist herself without really knowing or recognizing it. Just as Adichie thought of her grandmother.

As I’ve mentioned, during Adichie’s presentation she would give examples of the everyday situations in which she was treated for being a woman and most of everybody in the room would cackle along out of being able to relate to what she was saying.

One of the examples that stood out to me was when she was out with a guy friend and they each paid separately, however, the male attendant only thanked her male friend for the payment.

Although that hasn’t happened to me personally (thankfully,) I’ve definitely seen it happen before to other women. And I’m not as surprised that it did because some people still follow old customs that are just so outdated.

The world accepting feminism isn’t going to happen overnight. However, I believe one day we’ll all be on the same page and won’t have to argue on absurd issues like why women typically get paid less than men or why women should or shouldn’t dress a certain way, and more.

Women will have the ability to not be thought of as different, but just as equal to our counterparts; men.

